Deepnote lets you view everything that has happened in a project in the Project history tab. It also contains snapshots of all files, so that you can see past versions of your notebook and revert your work.
You will need edit- or admin-level access to the project in order to view its history. You can see actions done by all collaborators. If an action log is associated with a specific notebook, you can click on the action and you will be focused on the notebook where the change was made.
Snapshots save all files in your projects so that you can restore them.
Automatic snapshots are taken automatically, every couple of minutes, to let you restore a file you might have accidentally deleted or overwritten. When running out of storage quota, the oldest automatic snapshots will be deleted.
Manual snapshots, which you can create at any time yourself, are never automatically deleted.
Both automatic and manual snapshots can be deleted manually, and the quota that will be freed upon deletion is stated in the deletion modal. However, the actual quota taken up by the snapshot can be larger. For example, when multiple snapshots reference the same (deleted but backed-up) file, the file can only be pruned if all snapshots referencing it are deleted. For this reason, deleting any of the snapshots alone will not free up such a file's quota — the quota will be reclaimed only when the last snapshot referencing the file is deleted.
We currently show you changes to files and cells, cell executions, kernel restarts and interrupts, hardware restarts and crashes, and project snapshots.
We will display only the latest 1,000 actions.
In some cases, automatic snapshots can take up a lot of your quota on the main disk. This usually occurs when you work with large data on the main disk, and modify or delete them heavily. Large deleted files are still taking up the quota unless you delete the automatic snapshots. We recommend separating data and code — you can use one of our integrations for connecting S3 or GCS buckets, or you can create a Shared dataset in Deepnote for your data.
If you really need to make sure automatic snapshots do not fill up your quota, you can disable creating them in Project Settings in your Dashboard. The setting is scoped per workspace (Team or Personal).